On the weekends I love to get a loaf of fresh french bread from the commissary and make french toast but with it just being Gray and I we never seem to be able to finish the whole loaf.  After a few days it begins to go stale and then I have that awful decision of whether to be creative or toss it.  I prefer to be creative.  This week I made quick and easy croutons on the stovetop.

Ingredients

Stale bread, cut into cubes

Italian herb seasoning

Salt and Pepper

Olive Oil

Directions

Heat about two tablespoons of oil in skillet; exact measurements are not important here, you just want enough oil to coat the bottom of the pan in a very thin layer.  I like using my grandmother’s cast iron frying pan for this.

On medium heat add the bread cubes and sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Crush a tablespoon of the herb seasoning between your palms and sprinkle over cubes.

It takes only a few minutes for the croutons to crisp up so watch closely and flip often to monitor their progress.  I have to admit, my first batch burned because I had no idea how fast they would finish.  Do NOT walk away.

These croutons are delicious and much healthier than the kind you get at the grocery store.  You get to choose how much oil and salt is used.

Enjoy!

