While roaming my kitchen like a hungry bear I noticed the apples I had bought (with the intention of having more healthy snacks HA!) were going to go bad soon.  I remembered that my grandma used to make applesauce all the time.  My grandparents had a bunch of apple trees and as a child I can remember watching my grandma peel buckets of apples and make them into the most delicious applesauce ever.  After a few tears in their memory I decided to try my hand at homemade applesauce.  I have to admit this was the first time making it and I don’t have my grandmother’s recipe just the memories. 

  

Ingredients (specific amounts can be varied)

5 apples (I used 4 red delicious and 1 honeycrisp because I happened to have them)

1 Cinnamon stick

4 tbls of lemon juice

1/3 cup of white sugar

1/3 cup of brown sugar

pinch of salt

1/2 cup of apple cider

1/2 cup of water

 

Directions

1) Peel and dice apples

2) Combine all ingredients in large pot and bring to boil.  Stir to coat apples with juice and sugars.

3) Let simmer on medium heat until apples are cooked and soft, about 25 minutes.

4) Mash with a potato masher or put in a food processor/blender.  It really depends on how chunky you like it.

 

Tips

  • Use apples you like but the crunchier ones hold up really well to being cooked.
  • For a healthier version cut back on the sugar.  Consider honey or a little molasses.

 

Such a simple recipe for something so delicious!  You’ll never want to buy the processed kind again and you can freeze any leftovers although I’m not sure you’ll have any because this stuff is incredible!

