Fall is my favorite time of year.  I love the cooler weather and the beautiful colors.  It just seems like the perfect season to me.  The best foods, colors, smells.  Everything about this time of year makes me happy.  I woke up this morning and it was only 60 degrees outside (which is pretty low in FL).  Bella is glued to my side for warmth and the backyard is slowly being covered in fallen leaves.  All of this puts me in the mood for one thing in particular  . . . homemade chicken noodle soup.  Mmmmm.

I don’t generally use recipes for things like this and I’m just going to give you the basics of what I do so you can choose what to change to make it your own.

 

Ingredients

Chicken (I use thigh and leg quarters but you can cook a whole chicken or any part that you like)

Chicken bouillon

Salt

Carrots (cut into bite size pieces)

Celery (cut into bite size pieces)

Garlic (diced, preferably fresh)

Herbs (I like dill, bay leaf, thyme, rosemary, and basil)

Noodles (I used egg noodles)

 

Directions

1) Put a LARGE pot of water on to boil with salt and chicken bouillon (follow directions for amount of bouillon in relation to amount of water).  Add chicken parts, carrots, celery, garlic and herbs.  Simmer for at least 45 minutes but longer if you have lots of chicken or large pieces.

2) Allow chicken and broth to cool (trust me, just because you think the chicken is cool on the outside, it’s not always cool on the inside so be patient).  Once cool remove bones and skin from chicken and pull meat into chunks.  Some recipes say to strain the chicken broth but I love the vegetables and taste as is.  To make it healthier skim fat off the top once the broth has cooled.

3)  Bring broth back up to a boil and add the chicken and noodles.  Cook until noodles are tender. 

 

Tips

  • Use fresh ingredients and don’t worry about how much.  For my batch today I just used what was in my fridge and happened to have more celery than carrots.
  • If you stop after step 2 you can use the chicken stock for different things.  Today I’m using half for chicken noodle soup and saving half to make chicken and dumplings tomorrow.  I’ll just bring it back to a boil, drop in biscuit dough and boil for 10 minutes.

 

That’s it!  Delicious homemade chicken noodle soup.  You decide how much salt to add, you know what type of chicken you used, and you can add whatever veggies you want.  This is WAY better than the stuff you get from the can and it’s better for you too.

